About Indiana University

In General

Indiana University (the “University,” “Corporation,” or “IU”) was founded in 1820 and is one of the largest state-supported universities in the country.

  • Originally established in 1820 as Indiana Seminary located in Bloomington
  • Designated as Indiana College in 1828
  • Became Indiana University in 1838

The University includes seven administered campuses, as follows:

  • Bloomington – the flagship campus
  • Indianapolis (Indiana University Purdue University at Indianapolis or “IUPUI” – administered by IU)
  • Richmond (“East”)
  • Kokomo
  • Gary (“Northwest”)
  • New Albany (“Southeast”)
  • South Bend


The University is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees, which is empowered by Indiana statutes with policy and decision-making authority to carry out the programs and missions of the University.

  • Five members are appointed by the Governor for three-year terms.
  • One full-time student trustee is appointed by the Governor for a two-year term. 
  • Three trustees are elected by the alumni of the University for three-year terms.
  • One alumnus trustee is elected each year.
  • Certain officers of the Board of Trustees are not members of the board. 

The following links contain specific information about the University:

By clicking the following links you will leave the Investor Disclosure website.

For more detailed information across all areas of the University, please visit our homepage.

Posted on January 26, 2018